On Some Days

By V1k1

Shop Till You Drop . . .

The forester went to visit an old friend and the daughter and I went shopping.  It was 2 degrees outside but that didn't deter us.  We had a very good haul by lunch time and went to a near by hotel for lunch.  I picked the hotel because my Dad had been a regular there both on duty as a policeman and off duty as a drinker.  The first hotel to stand on this site was built in 1863.  After the 2011 earthquake the old building was demolished and the new hotel opened in 2013.  The Rugby test between the All blacks and Manu Samoa was on the big screens.  When our national anthem played I just had to stand up.  Nobody else did but because I do it at school on assembly days I now feel it is the right thing to do.  The daughter and I stood and I did feel proud to see our side lined up in their black jerseys.   We had a filling lunch and then the daughter managed to add a pair of brown leather boots to her haul.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.