Keeping Warm

Early morning, air temperature -1.5ºC, watching over the frozen sugar water.

The snow didn’t happen, though just before dark I watched out a window as a nearby hill slowly turned white. The south wind has been very sharp all day.

My son tackled the three big branches that broke on the back of the fir trees, and fell across the fence into the neighbour’s paddock. The biggest one was still attached and he climbed high into the tree to saw it free. One look at him was enough for me. I went to the other side of the house and busied myself with other things. He cut the logs into manageable lengths and threw them, and all the debris, over the fence into my rough area. My neighbour likes to have a tidy paddock and it’s a relief to have that done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.