Cleome

Dear Diary,

One of my favorite garden annuals is cleome or "spider plant".  It is such a showy addition and I like its tall statue in the container plantings.  I've been doing these little flower studies this year in a painterly way which I will turn into a little desktop calendar this fall.  I like to give them as Christmas gifts.  I feel very Monet-ish, using my garden to inspire my art.

Despite the afternoon downpour, the lawn got mowed and things are looking good. Not that I have a lawn really, just various green things that look fine when clipped.  It always makes me think of my father who said he didn't care what was growing on the lawn as long as it was green!   I love the day after a mow, when you can still smell the freshly cut "grass" and everything looks so neat.

Every blade of grass has its Angel that bends over it
and whispers, 'grow, grow.'
-   Talmud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.