"We've mislaid the baby again..."

...I came home after a long day out and driving into my road my car is greeted by two vociferous blackbirds and my cat Popeye.

I open the car door and Mr and Mrs Blackbird are looking up at me from the concrete. They appeared to be saying "We've mislaid the foster baby again..."

Since that foster baby left the nest a week ago it has been driving Mr and Mrs Blackbird up the wall. They came to me in the potting shed with mouthfuls of worms the other day, and I had to go out with them and walk around my garden looking in the bushes to find their foster child. It amazes me the blackbirds are hopping round my feet. They had been calling and presumably it had not replied. I found it and Mr and Mrs Blackbird began feeding it again. Since then the foster child has left the confines of my back garden and is in my front garden, or it is in a neighbouring garden. Mr and Mrs Blackbird appear to be spending a vast amount of their time searching for their wayward foster child and they get quite distressed when presumably it does not answer their cries. Yesterday evening I had to do something with my car in the front. Mr and Mrs Blackbird came up to me quite distressed and wouldn't leave me. I actually walked down my road with these two blackbirds hopping around me and then when I came up the other side the two blackbirds dived into a bush and there was their foster child. They began feeding it again.

Anyhow I am now trying to get out of the car but I can't with the two blackbirds hopping around where I need to put my feet. They are looking at me and saying plenty. Then Popeye comes up between them and my stomach is in my mouth. The blackbirds have no interest or fear of the cat. Popeye in turn has no interest in these blackbirds only inches away from him. I was so gobsmacked. I couldn't believe what I was seeing. Then Popeye shrugged his shoulders only the way he can and then sauntered in the direction of the kitchen and food.

I turned my attention to those blackbirds and they flew to the wall and I reached for my phone and got out of the car and took some pics. Then I walked round my front garden moving bushes. Then Mrs and Mrs Blackbird dived down from my roof and began feeding foster baby....so all is well again.

But I cannot get over the way the cat Popeye appeared to be co existing with those blackbirds. My cats know I am pleased when they catch mice and rabbits but not any creature with wings. So they leave the winged variety alone.

Blipfoto is acting up tonight and it tells me my photo is loaded, but there is no photo to see. So I cannot choose the thumbnail. I am going to publish and see if it is all okay. If not then bear with me until I can get the photo up with with the words...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.