Cup of comfort

A leaf fluttered in through the window this morning, as if supported by the rays of the sun, a bird settled on the fire escape, joy in the task of coffee, joy accompanied me as I walked.
Anais Nin


Today I'm going to a funeral to comfort and support a friend I have known since my first job as a camp counselor well over 40 years ago. My friend N has lost her 95 year old mother, after a long and well lived life. Each morning I sip my coffee in this mug, one I 'borrowed' from Camp Kiwanee, and think often of the people there who changed my life. N has a mug also, a well worn twin. It holds brushes in her painting studio, a visual signpost of where we have been and bonds we have made.

For the Record,
This day came in sunny with patchy clouds. I expect to see three old friends today, one who I have not seen since the summer of 1972 when she and another close friend, BB, joined S and me on some adventures in Sweden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.