Bunny Breakfast

This is a very young cottontail rabbit. You could easily hold him in two cupped hands. I opened the back door the morning to Nelson looking in, begging for his morning peanuts. I tossed a few out on the step, he took one and stepped down onto the patio to eat it. Suddenly he was followed by not a chipmunk, but this precious baby rabbit. By the time I hefted the Nikon from the table and stepped out, the bunny had hopped to the edge of the patio and was munching happily on clover. That bunch of clover needs serious weeding, but the blooms happen to be one of my favorites, so I have left it. I'm glad I did, what a lovely bunny breakfast it made.


For the Record,
This day came in wet and dark after a night of torrential rain. I love the sound of rain at night, I think it takes me back to my late teens and twenties, my camp counselor days. Fresh wet pine scented air and rat a tat tat music on the cabin roof as the small girls slept on their camp cots all around. Or maybe childhood vacation nights sleeping in a cottage on Cape Cod, or on a porch on the coast of Maine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.