alisonkalnins

By Ballbins

Bent

I love this spoon and I don't know why, I always seek it out in the drawer, I don't know when it started bending or why it started bending, it's still bending, I hope it gets really bent. It feels nice in my hand.

Today I phoned a sewing machine supplier to enquire about embroidery machines, I spoke to a very enthusiastic salesman on the phone( I think they must have an espresso machine there). We were talking about one model of machine and then he started talking about a 12 needle industrial machine !!! He was quoting telephone number prices and going too fast for me. He asked me where I lived, I told him, he said that's just around the corner, come over now. He said the bloke who sells these machines is here at the moment so he'll be able to show you how it works, he said hurry though, he's from Bradford and he's heading off soonish. I said I'm from Bradford too, he said really.
I drove to showroom and rang in the bell, a man opened the door, I asked him if he was Jay ( the man on the phone) he said no, I'm Alan, I said are you from Bradford, he said yes, I said so am I, he said I know , you're Alison and your cousins are Danny and Simon and you went to Hanson ( school), I was a bit taken aback to say the least, I kept asking how did he know. Then I asked his surname, he told me.... He lived next door but one to me when we were teenagers !!! Once I'd had a long good look at him, I could see his young face in there.
We gave each other updates on our lives, he has 4 grandchildren !!!! He's also recently had open heart surgery, he showed me his scars, they were very neat.
I spent a couple of hours there and by the end of it had been offered a very good deal on the big machine.
I am presently working on King Sugar ....

Sorry for the lack of inverted commas : )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.