Derelict Thursday - end of day

A hard afternoon in the garden, digging up acres and acres of couch - at least it felt like acres and acres.  In reality it was about a metre wide and 4 metres long.  Trouble is that the roots go so deep, and if you leave the smallest bit in the ground it will shoot.  I did paint a couple of shoots with weed killer, I simply could not get them out.  That's because they are tangled up with some asparagus crowns. 

Then I found out that the lovely rosemary I planted a couple of years back actually takes root when the branches touch the ground.  Somehow they neglected to tell me that when I originally bought it.  So now I have a huge thicket of rosemary, interlaced with couch. 

The stuff of nightmares.

I have a new self-imposed  rule.  I'm not allowed to buy plants unless the ground is ready to receive them.  I've ordered some new rhubarb crowns and will pick them up on Saturday.  Is the bed ready?  Of course it isn't. Hence the hurrying and scurrying around trying to get it organised.

These venerable shoes are my gardening sneakers.  Before they trod down the garden path they carried me on endless kilometres on the treadmill, endless metres on the rower, and endless miles through the Belair NP.  I have to say, that although they are just about worn out, they are still very comfortable especially if I wear socks.  My gardening boots aren't big enough to accommodate socks, and so aren't very nice to wear in this weather.

I do hope the forecast rain stays away until my garden bed is finished.

So this is my Derelict Thursday - entitled end of day.  Because it is the end of  my day in the garden and it's time to get tea ready.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.