Soaring ...

... on 60 km/hour winds.

Last night I thought it was cold, and that I didn't have gear warm enough to take a run. I realised why when I saw that the temperature at that time was 2.8 Centigrade, and the wind made it effectively minus 5. Overnight, the hills around Porirua were dusted with snow, and I was even more reluctant to run.

The day at work was hardly difficult. The MDT meeting was followed by a new assessment who really doesn't need us. His needs are social so a bit of redirection and advice was handed out. Sadly, he may not get all he would like, which was his complaint when he came!

The next patient couldn't get to the appointment, and we talked on the telephone. He is doing well with the medication I gave him a fortnight ago, and will see someone else and we might then refer to another service. The third person was too busy moving home to even tell us he wouldn't come.

That meant an early finish, and I went out to the airport early. Stopping on the way at Lyall Bay to look at the effects on the water of the wind coming from the south across Cook Straight directly into the Bay. I was very pleased to see that I had caught one of the few gulls still in the air in this photo. 

Standing there and trying to keep out of the wind, I worried that it might be so windy that they'd close the airport. But there were no cancelled flights, and we got away almost on time. Back home now, for a birthday dinner while waiting for a call from tsuken.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.