Consensus

This morning the sky appeared clear when I woke just over an hour before sunrise. So I decided I would head to Westhaven and take a photo of the sunrise to celebrate the start of another year. Got myself organised and started off just before 0700 am. By which time there were many more clouds, especially in the east.

I carried on as I thought that if such a change could occur in a half hour, the reverse could equally happen in the next half hour. Could have, but didn't. No sunrise to be seen. While I waited vainly for the colours from the rising sun, I took a few photos, and when discussing it with S and J, the consensus was that this shot of Auckland City centre at dawn of day was the best.

Mr H sent me a text not long after I got back to the apartment wishing me a happy 10th birthday. The cheeky boy was remembering me saying it would be my tenth birthday since the one in 2006. He spent the morning with us while his mother took Young L off to play football; a loss this morning (5-2) which would have been worse had he not saved two goals (he was goalkeeper).

This afternoon the boys and our daughters came to visit bearing cake, and presents. The candles displayed my true age, to the boys' satisfaction. Truth is important. I got a nice collection of books from the daughters and grandsons. As well as a collection of small plastic pieces out of which I am expected to construct a peacock!

My darling S responded to my frustration with the Nikon, and I have been given a Canon PowerShotSX710HS. It looks very good. A very long instruction manual, which I have yet to read. Hoping to find it a good addition to my small collection of cameras.

Will try it out tomorrow after charging the battery and reading a bit about how to make it work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.