Pink Parade on the Lily Pond

It is high summer and the Arboretum's lily pond is looking amazing. It is filled with water lilies of many colors: white ones, several shades of pink, yellow, blue-purple, peach.

I often visit just after sunrise, but the water lilies aren't usually fully open by then. On this day, I happened by in late morning, and as I walked around the lily pond, I almost had to catch my breath. The colors were so amazing, they were almost shining.

The first lotus has come and gone (somehow I missed it, but these have been strange days indeed; so I'll try to catch the next one's show). But you can see the little lotus seed pod reflected in the lower left corner by the first pink lily down front. And the reflections of the plant behind the lilies almost seem like dark fireworks on the water.

The song to accompany this image has to be something about the color pink, in honor of this parade of pink lilies. So here is Aerosmith, with Pink.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.