Match Factory, Reflected on the Big Spring Run

I decided on the spur of the moment on this morning to pay a quick visit to Bellefonte's Talleyrand Park. I was driving, and I just kept on driving. You know how that goes. Ever go off-plan, in search of an adventure? Yes, I do that often. And I am frequently well rewarded.

Big storms with torrential downbursts were on the docket for later in the day. The skies were threatening, but it wasn't raining quite yet. So I parked my car and got out, and walked around Talleyrand Park and took some pictures of the park and the historic Match Factory buildings nearby.

It was warm out but not oppressive yet, and I could have wished for better light. But otherwise, what a wonderful place for photo ops. Big green trees, ducks a-plenty, the beautiful spring run itself with water clear as glass, and even train tracks! The place is a photography lover's dream; it's hard to take a bad photo there.

I was charmed to see two lovely little old ladies walking around the trails at the park, and stopping every now and again to sit on a bench here or there. I was glad to see them getting outside, getting some fresh air. The shorter lady was a bit bent over; her friend occasionally offered her an arm.

I had just walked across a pretty little bridge and was setting up some shots, framed through the dark green trees, when finally the sun I had wished for arrived. The front of the Match factory was instantly lit up like a beacon and reflected on the waters; suddenly it seemed like a city on a hill.

It reminded me of a painting: a city on a hill lit by golden light. But I couldn't remember the painter. The colors of my palette were deeply golden orange, and the scene suddenly had the feeling of somewhere Very Far Away. Was I in Spain? Somewhere in the American Southwest?

Somewhere in the distance, I heard and saw the two little old ladies again through the trees. I thought they might make it into this shot, but apparently they did not; their forms are obstructed by leaves. I imagined them walking arm in arm, toward the golden city, just two old friends on a grand morning adventure. Like me!

The song: Starship, We Built This City.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.