What The Blip!

By JebusBlips

Late Leytonstone

What a day today was, from a running perspective. Endurance was tested and a record fell.

Thursday night means Nike Run Club at Westfield Stratford but due to strike action by all the 4 main unions (due to the introduction of weekend night service) there was no service on the London Underground today, so a plan B had to be implemented.

I have run the route to Stratford before and it's about 8 miles which given the heat still left in the day and the fact I'd have to run 8 miles back after run club, I decided to drive to midway point and park up.

A spot in a Wanstead side street located (it was residents only till 6:30 but w/ option to "pay and display") I set off on the 4 miles to Stratford. Due to the heat and busy roads I took it easy but still felt exhausted by time I arrived, and I still had run club and the return leg to contend with.

4 Miles - 37m51s - 09:26 avg p/m

Run Club this evening had a twist. We were split into 3 groups and charged with task of #FindYourFast which entailed running a 1 mile square route near to the Velodrome as fast as you can. I was in the 'Volt' group and we set off first. Unsure as to what I had left energy wise I decided to #justgoforit, after all it's just a mile right?

Amongst the Volt crew was Delase, (whom I owe a debt of gratitude for my 10K PB earlier in the year where he paced the group that I desperately tried to stick with) and he hit the front right from the start so I clung to his heels and gritted my teeth. Well for 3/4 of the mile I kept up, only dropping back on the final straight, however as I crossed the 1 mile point and stopped my watch I had unbelievably achieved my first sub 6 minute mile! 5 mins 47 secs to be exact. Chuffed wasn't the word! I now owe Delase big time!

All finishers were either bent over recovering (an indication of the effort they put in) or were high fiving the finishers from the other 2 groups.

Once we were all finished we set off for a gentle 2 mile trot back to the Nike store, via a couple of laps around the outside of the Velodrome. Back at the store water was distributed and 'So Fast' Nikemiler technical t-shirts were awarded to the 4 runners whom the Coach and Pacers felt deserving. I was chuffed for the second time when I was the recipient of one of said t-shirts! *happyface*

Before the run back to my car I needed some fuel so a few of us went to Nandos where I had their Quinoa Salad with sliced chicken. The salad was very tasty, with avocado, roasted squash, feta, sunflower seeds, as well as the quinoa. Highly recommended.

After a short time to allow my food to go down a bit, I set off on my 4 mile run back to the car.

I can't lie, it was hard, with the fatigue and full belly but I made it and my stats were not much different to the outbound run.

4 Miles - 38m38s - 09:37 avg p/m

Anyway, after all that, my picture today has nothing to do with any of the above running antics, it's of a lonely pedestrian in Leytonstone. I took several shots from different angles of the lit up 'Leytonstone' sign, but this was by far my favourite. Processed in VSCO app with X1 filter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.