Amish Bakery

Not everyone knows of my Amish background.  But I am a Yoder, and Yoder is one of the most common Amish names.  My grandfather was born into the Amish-Mennonite community in Ohio.  In certain areas of the US, Yoder is as common a name as Jones is in Wales!  

Today I was on my way to visit some of my other cousins who just bought a cottage on a lake, about an hour east of where I am staying here in Michigan.  I drove on rural roads the whole way.  While there aren't as many Amish in Michigan as there are in Pennsylvania and Ohio, there are pockets of Amish communities here, and my cousins live in one of those areas.  There are Amish farms dotted around and you can see an occasional horse and buggy sharing the road with the cars, and even parked outside the local Wal-Mart!  

On the way to my destination, I saw this sign and decided to take the short detour to check out the bakery.  I came away with some 'jams and jellies' - Peach, Dandelion (!) and Apple Butter.  I also couldn't resist one of their home-made woven rag rugs - I think it will look perfect in my new kitchen!  I had a nice conversation with 'Rhoda Yoder' and she told me she had a cousin also named Heidi Yoder who lived in Kentucky.  She seemed pleased that I had stopped by and that my rug was going all the way to England.  

See the extra photos for a view of the farm, as well as the rugs beautifully displayed on the front porch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.