Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Feather-legged Flower Friday...

Well, this is a bit of a stretch for BikerBear's Flower Friday, but it was too good to pass up.  This odd looking creature is a feather-legged fly and if you look closely, you can see where it gets its name - from the feather-like fringe on its rear legs.  Pretty cool, for a fly.  The flower, as you can probably tell, is a buddleia.  Camera: Nikon D750; lens Nikkor 105mm; with monopod.  

The swallows and wrens are busy feeding nestlings and, frankly, it's not really a good time to be an insect in our garden.  Which is why I thought I'd make today mostly a macro day.  I made a quick trip over to Kittatinny State Park and got a couple of cool dragons, then back home to switch cameras and go on a macro safari.  (All the while, keeping an eye over both shoulders in case the bear decided to come visiting.)  

Hummers zooming everywhere - at times passing within inches of my face, completely unconcerned by my presence.  Baby titmice flying rampant all over the yard - also completely unconcerned by me.  Ditto red-bellied and downy woodpeckers.  Even the catbirds are letting me within mere feet of them.  It may be a bad time to be an insect in our garden, but its a fine time to be a photographer!  

Five other pics posted on Flickr, starting HERE

Heading out to dinner with our neighbors tonight - should be fun.  Then, my friend Peggy is coming over tomorrow on her way from Corning down to PA - I'm stocking up on wine!  

Hubs is sending out resumes in anticipation of his contract running out at the end of this month.  And, I am still going around and around with the insurance people.  Lots of turmoil still going on in the family, but I am trying to keep positive attitude and have made a decision not to be angry.  Anger is such a waste of time, accomplishes nothing, and is bad for everyone involved.  Instead, I am reminding myself about all the things I love about everyone in my extended family - which makes me happy.  

Have a good weekend, people.  Give someone you love an extra big hug today.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.