Back Door Fly By

Even though I'm deaf in one ear (hopefully temporarily) I can still hear and appreciate the sweet sound of a Merlin engine. I threw the washing on the floor, grabbed my camera and rushed outside. The Spitfire was in the distance but what a thrill to see one in the blue skies of my piece of Southern England on the actual seventy-fifth anniversary of the Battle of Britain. The Queen watched from the balcony of Buckingham Palace, I had my own private fly-by viewed over our glasshouses from my back door.

MrQ has been telling me that his parents told him when they visited him in St. Neots, where he was evacuated, of a Spitfire that crashed into the mews near their shop in London. The pilot, who had fortunately bailed out, came to see the fate of his craft.

It's such a shame that many young people of today have no idea what The Battle Of Britain was. “Never in the field of human conflict was so much owed by so many to so few.”   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.