Travels Through A Lens

By SnapshotSam

Another Place

It was a sunny day so I headed off to the west coast to take a picture of one of the one hundred statues on Crosby beach created by the artist Antony Gormley entitled 'Another Place'.

The cast iron figures face out to sea, spread over a 2 mile stretch of the beach. Each figure is nearly 6 feet 2½ inches and weighs around 650 kg. In common with most of Gormley's work, the figures are cast replicas of the artist's own body. As the tides ebb and flow, the figures are revealed and submerged by the sea, with those further out on the beach nearest the sea having lots of barnacles clinging to them. The tide was in so I didn't see those ones this time.

Another Place was first exhibited on the beach of Cuxhaven, Germany in 1997 and after that in Stavanger in Norway and De Panne in Belgium. They were due to go to New York next but there was a campaign to keep them at Crosby and so here they stay.

Check out this web-site with one in a woolly outfit!

I also forgot to say this is a special place to me being by the sea and fitting for my blipday.

Well, 300 blips later and I can't believe I've made it this far.

I just want to say a big THANK YOU for the encouragement and comments received from the blippers who have stopped by my journal and left comments, stars and hearts. A special thank you to the blip friends I've made both in cyber space and met locally. You're all fantastic.

Through blip I receive a daily dose of inspiration and positivity and as I've said before, it's like a daily cyber hello with a smile :)

Thank you also to blip central for enabling blip to be what it is.

And I wouldn't want to be in any other place!

Nikon D7000

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.