Almost relaxed

This is the weekend of reading agenda papers before the two day meeting next week in Wellington. Mid afternoon I decided on a break and headed down to Western Springs lake. partly to see if I could see, and photograph, the spoonbills which I had been told are there. saw them and got a photo. Because its a bit soft, I've put it in the extras. (In part because it has an extra bird in the foreground)

The putangitangi drake shown here was much quieter and less flighty than those I generally see, allowing me to approach to within a few metres of him before walking away. no squawking. No flight.


Also in the extras is a photo I am pleased with despite the blurring. I saw the swallows circling over a small bay in the lake, and got myself ready and snapped this as the bird entered my vision. Missed it hitting the water to nab a water top insect, and got this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.