mambo

By mambo

Know your onions!

Had a busy day at the allotment yesterday and noticed how lovely all the onion family were looking.
Took a few shots and when I looked at them back home I knew I had to pop back today with my camera to put these onion heads in my journal.

This year we have grown leeks, garlic and both brown and white onions.
The garlic had just died back so we have dug some up to dry out in the sun, the same with the brown onions. This shot shows some of the flowering heads of the white onions. When they flower it is time to dig them up. I always leave mine a bit longer than I should so that the heads develop a bit morethen I can cut them off for flowers to take home.

Will be back tomorrow to dig the rest up to dry and don't be surprised if my next blip show them in a jug or a vase,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.