2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

World record breakers

Oh my goodness, what a day.

I was asked by Teenage Cancer Trust to host a world record tandem sky diving attempt today at Hibaldstow Airfield in Lincolnshire.

Let me start by making something crystal clear:
I do NOT jump out of aeroplanes!

From the outset the thought of parachuting has not appealed to me.
Supporting Teenage Cancer Trust at any opportunity is, however, very high.

We have all been inspired by Stephen Sutton and his wonderful family continue to work hard in his legacy.

Stephen had a bucket list that included setting a world record for the number of tandem sky dives in 24 hours. He had one go with his friend Lee. They found out how hard it was to get the number of people needed and it didn't happen before he died.

When I arrived on Thursday night I found out the sound supplier had not delivered on their promise.
As I drove past Brigg Town FC around 10.30pm the lights were on so I went in to see if they might know someone who could help.

They had a sound system and yes I could borrow it.

Let's put that into context. A man they've never seen asks to borrow expensive kit and they say "Yes". No questions, no hassle, just happy to help. Thank you Brigg Town, have a great season.

An early start. The first flight was at 7am. We needed 287 to break the world record. 30 landings an hour would be needed.

Lucy was the firat to jump and set the ball i motion. Early jumpers were Euan and Jimmy. Euan had come from Tuscany, Jimmy from Kent. They dad landed by 7.30am then spent much of the day supporting others.

There was the small matter of Jimmy having to call his school to say he wouldn't be in today because he'd jumped out of an aeroplane! I did mention he could still make afternoon registration even though it was a 4 hour drive

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.