a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Soul

"Oh I can’t stand to leave that girl alone
 And if I explained it till the cows came home
You’ll never understand how I feel inside
Oh so you better get her off my back
Let the monkey ride
Oh let the monkey ride
 
They say you better let her go, she’s no good for you
Oh but I couldn’t cut her loose if I wanted to
If the truth be told, I never tried
Oh so you better get her off my back
Let the monkey ride
Oh let the monkey ride
 
Looks to me she’s got me hooked, rest assured there ain’t no cure
I need a soul where the me I know, can’t be denied
Don’t you know she’s got a hold of my heart
No but don’t wait around for us to drift apart
Cause I can’t get enough to be satisfied
Oh so you better get her off my back
Let the monkey ride
Oh let the monkey ride
 
Cause I can’t get enough to be satisfied
Oh so you better get her off my back
Let the monkey ride
Oh let the monkey ride"


James Hunter - Let the Monkey Ride

This afternoon the Boxcats (the band I play in) played the Bromley Heath festival.  No sooner was that over than I raced into town to meet Cathy to catch the James Hunter Six at the Colston Hall in Bristol.  They play unashamedly retro sounding original soul music, with a fabulous twin sax line up.  Not everyone's cup of tea, but Cathy and I loved it.  

As a result photo opportunities were limited.  I had the iPhone with me for the James Hunter gig and this was the best shot I could take in the dim  gig lighting.  Oh for the Nikon with its ISO 12800 and f1.4 50mm lens in such conditions!

I am afraid that, with one thing and another I have fallen behind in keeping up with Blip today, and with my brother and family coming for lunch tomorrow I suspect that I won't catch up properly until tomorrow evening. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.