Chamois highway

Up here is a Chamois highway with hoof prints everywhere. I'm guessing they don't come here for the view ;-)

Snow, ice and sun today, and what a spectacular day it's been. A tad cold but going uphill in the sun during the afternoon I got down to two layers.

Our afternoon plans were thwarted by ice. We couldn't safely cross the stream we wanted to and there wasn't a good reason for either wet feet (the preferable option) or a helicopter ride out with something broken (the less preferable option).

I'd had my eye on this alternative activity earlier, a modest clamber with enough snow, ice and steepness to keep us sharp. It was good fun.

Back to the hut to collect water from the partially frozen stream for the evening and tomorrow morning, warm up, prepare for a (hopefully) not too cold a night and eat.

I live in a fantastic country, this is my back yard and I never get tired of going there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.