The Wren

By TheWren

Midnight sunrise

Leaving The North Cape we had a couple of days scenic sea cruising ahead of us and it was such a treat.  The Captain brought the ship down to a 'stroll' as we meandered through narrow inlets and revelled in the scenery on both sides of the ship. I took a number of single shots which I have made into fairly successful panoramas but I felt it was fitting to have a shot of the midnight sunrise for my blip as it was the last chance before we crossed back over the Arctic Circle. Last night there had been a strong cloud base over the water which meant, disappointingly, that we couldn't see the sun kissing the horizon before it started to rise. However tonight, although we had travelled a little further south and continued to experience low cloud, we had a show which held me spellbound as I watched the sun peak out from the clouds with a tiny glimmer before it proceeded to rise gloriously into the clearer sky. The decks were busy as quite a few folk had stayed up to watch the spectacle because the previous evenings had been so disappointing and we all found it difficult to turn in for the 'night' as the daylight rapidly increased!

I have added a few extra shots of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.