BoroLady69

By BoroLady69

Female Ruby-throated Hummingbird...

I took this picture of a female Ruby-throated Hummingbird at one of my nectar feeders (that tiny red cage is a Bee guard - it doesn't always work).  They tend to go in for a drink, fly backward and hover a little, then go in for another drink.  It's hard to catch a pic of them, particularly when sitting on my family room sofa sipping a mug full of hot coffee after my breakfast - quickly picking up my camera, focusing on a larger feeder before holding that focus and putting it up to the hovering bird to take the pic before it flies off - quite a feat!  We had such a busy day today this was the only picture I'd had a chance to take.  
http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Ruby-throated_Hummingbird/sounds    Go to this link to learn about Ruby-throated Hummingbirds - the only Hummingbird that comes this far North then flies over 3K miles over the Gulf of Mexico for the Winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.