BoroLady69

By BoroLady69

House Wren singing and Male Rosebreasted Grosbeak

After hearing a House Wren singing in my back yard for days, I finally saw him perching on the butterfly pole singing strongly, I even heard, more faintly, a Wren replying in song.  Then, surprise, surprise, my first sighting this season of a Male Rosebreasted Grosbeak at my feeder.  He seemed to be looking down disdainfully at the little Woodpecker.  He stayed for a while, again looking across at the Downy Woodpecker that was still hanging around before flying away.  Usually I see pairs of Rosebreasted Grosbeaks at my feeders all summer long.  I'v purchased a quite large 'fly through' platform feeder hoping the larger feeder birds will return to my yard - haven't had a chance to find out how to hang it up - a hanger didn't come with it!.
After my Granddaughter's swimming lesson, as promised, we took her to the Sciencenter in Ithaca.  She loves this place and today enjoyed the many science projects that students were explaining and encouraging the kids to get involved in doing themselves. She particularly enjoyed looking for minuscule bugs in a shallow dish, picking out her finds with tweezers, putting them in a Petri dish and heading off to the students with the microscopes.  She quickly got the hang of that and went back and forth a few times - couldn't find a bug under the scope but did find a ribbed tubular skin from some creature so she was happy. She also enjoyed the playground outside, making huge bubbles, swinging on the rope, running all over.  She'd had a good few hours there before we all felt tired and ready for home.
www.sciencenter.org/  Sciencenter Museum, Ithaca, NY

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.