Antedote

I've had a brilliant day - and I wrote it all down but seem to have lost it. Today was an antedote to yesterday - no schedules, no timetables. I was going to post a few extras, but they don't want to upload either!

Conversation Piece –
Juan Muñoz (1998) bronze

Decided to edit this post as I don't want to forget the details of this fantastic day. First, a hearty breakfast. After checking my exit route for tomorrow, I went back to capture this shot. the plan then was to walk to Souter Lighthouse and back. My host told me it was half an hour's walk to but I was a bit sceptical so I went in search of the tourist info. It took some finding, as it had recently moved and was now located (unsignposted) in the back of a new (unsignposted) leisure centre, which had no signs on it to tell you it was a leisure centre.  When I finally found it, the lady was very helpful (customers were probably a scarcity) and told me it was about 3.5 miles. I decided that I'd catch the bus there then walk back - northwards, so the sun would be behind me. I just missed a bus, so I consoled myself with an ice cream. The bus eventually arrived, 15 minutes late and rather full, but most people got off after a couple of stops. Something was happening in the park! 
I had a lovely visit to the lighthouse, and climbed all the steps (73, I think) to the top. You come down the last 20 or so backwards!  Then I had a glorious walk back to South Shields along the clifftops - lots of birds and wild flowers. As I got back into town, I caught the last bit of what was happening in the park - a free Atomic Kitten concert. 
I rounded off my lovely day with Fish and Chips at the word famous (!) Colman's restaurant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.