Journey's End

I did it! Coast to Coast on my bus pass adventure. It all went quite smoothly. The weather was a bit disappointing - it was dull all day but the scenery was wonderful. The last leg from Carlisle to Bowness-on-Solway which I was a bit nervous about was fine. But it remained dull - I hung around hoping it would brighten up but it wasn't to be. I went in the local pub and had a celebratory drink before catching the bus back to Carlisle. I was surprised that none of the people there were British - quite a few Americans, and also French, German and Dutch. It was interesting eavesdropping on their travellers' tales. Quite a few of them seemed to have completed the Hadrian's Wall trail on foot over quite a few days, so I felt a bit of a cheat doing it in one day by bus. As I went for the bus, it began to rain heavily, and I got pretty wet, but that couldn't dampen my pleasure at having completed my challenge.
Another fine day in prospect tomorrow. I'm meeting up with fellow Blipper PaulaJ before a trip home by rail on the Settle to Carlisle line.
The extra is the start of today's journey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.