Looking Forward...

By Fiono

Milan Duomo

Italy was the only country bordering Switzerland that I hadn't visited this year...until today!

Amy and I are spending a couple of days in Milan. As you do. I found some bargain train tickets from Basel for specific trains running for the World Expo that's currently on here from May to October. We're going to go tomorrow evening. After arriving at dinner time we wandered around the city parks and flag-adorned streets, marvelled at the Duomo, tried to ignore the dozens of selfie-stick sellers in the city and of course stopped for some ice cream! The first of many I'm sure.

The recent selfie-stick epidemic really saddens me in this increasingly narcissistic, must-capture-every-moment culture. I'm glad they're starting to be banned in public places. Although I confess I do take the odd photo using my front-facing smartphone camera, I have to sometimes as a solo traveller but I am perfectly happy using my own arm! What's happened to asking a fellow tourist to take one for you? They look so much better! Also, I think faffing around with the set up etc. makes you more vulnerable to being scammed/mugged. That's certainly what was going through my mind when I saw some older tourists struggling with them. Rant over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.