Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Motion Blur...

I didn't pick up a camera until late this afternoon when I went out to the garden in search of anything I could blip.  Yes, it was shaping up to be an emergency-blip...until I saw a couple of Hummingbird Clearwing Moths in the garden.  I love this big moths and will rarely pass up a chance to photograph them.  I generally do better using a longer lens, but since I had the 105mm macro already on the camera, I decided to see what I could do with it.  

I usually like to shoot clearwings at a higher speed in order to freeze the wings so that you can see the beautiful lacy pattern - but I decided I liked this since it shows the motion.  These moths feed much like the avian hummingbirds in that they hover over the flower, using fast wing speed to keep them in place.  Hope you like it!

I posted two other shots on Flickr...
a trash-talking hummie
and
A big wasp dining on a beetle - this is the first time I've ever witnessed a wasp hunting and it was very cool to see.  Gruesome, but cool.  

Had a wonderful evening with Hubs and Peggy.  We sat on the deck (on eye peeled for the bear), drank wine (way too much) and at salmon, veggies and salad ... followed by a fruit tart!  Slept late this morning then had Hubs' famous blueberry walnut pancakes before setting out to meet a third member of our foursome, Ellen, for lunch.  We gabbed and ate and had such a lovely time - the only thing missing was Kura, our fourth member.  But, with a little luck, Ellen, Kura and I will get together next weekend.  Ellen and Kura both have birthdays in early July, so we have plenty to celebrate.  For me, the real celebration is having such amazing girlfriends - I am so lucky to have these three women in my life and I love each of them.

Tell someone you love them today...

Deb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.