Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Make mine a double...

I had no intention of blipping a clearwing moth again today.  None.  Niente. Niet.  But what was I to do when I found two of them together on a buddleia blossom?  I had to succumb.  

It seems as if someone just sent out the memo to the clearwings to suddenly show up in my garden - there were at least a half dozen buzzing around this morning as I sipped my tea and welcomed the day.  Beautiful creatures.

The swallow babies look as if they are nearly ready to fledge - one keeps sticking his head out of the nest, peering curiously around. Mom and Dad are continuing to bring food in and carry fecal sacks out ... kind of like diaper duty, I suppose.  This morning there were 4 swallows swooping around the garden, including a couple of juveniles who may have been from an earlier brood.  I feel like I am surrounded with beauty right now.  

I've posted 5 other shots on Flickr, starting HERE with a swallow nestling.  And if you don't like spiders, skip the fifth shot of a spotted orbweaver wrapping up a meal to go...  If you like spiders, have a look - she's kind of cool in a creepy way.

I haven't updated recently on the Tale of Two Kitties ... basically, Charlie and Phoebe have a very tentative cease-fire agreement wihich periodically descends into Jihad.  Last night, in what seemed like a breakthrough, they both stretched out on the floor less than a foot from each other, both on their backs, both studiously avoiding eye contact.  Things seemed to be going well until they accidentally touched paws....  Am I wrong to view it as progress?  

Hope your week is off to a good start!

TTFN
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.