Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Tuesday...

Today's pick is a male Variable Dancer, a very common and abundant damselfly in our garden every summer.  What is interesting is that I don't see this color variant of the males very often, mostly the more plain-Jane brown females or the slightly blue-ish males.  Made picking today's Blip kind of easy, actually.  That and the fact that this handsome guy was very cooperative and let me get within a foot for photos!  My second choice today would have been a pure black Robber Fly - cool and ominous.  

I posted the Robber, a bumble bee and two hummers starting HERE on Flickr.  Worth a look if you have time...

I met up this morning with my naturalist group and before we'd gone even a half mile, the skies opened and we became drenched.  Was very glad I had my handy black plastic shopping bag to cover the D750!  We continued on, enduring rain showers for about 90 minutes before I finally called surrender and left.  The place we went would usually have been excellent for dragonflies but the rain and heavy overcast kept them all mostly in hiding. Still, it was nice to walk and talk.

I had a hankering for red meat, so bought a couple of small tenderloins to grill tonight - perfect with a nice old vine zinfandel...

Be well, people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.