If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Tongland Bridge.

Setting up day for the Kirkcudbright Country Fair.We set off late morning and stopped in our favourite layby for lunch.  Even so we arrived at the show field before we were technically allowed on.  However we were allowed to carry on and were soon setting up the Marquee.

Rather than post yet another shot of a field with empty marquees in it I decided I had plenty of time so I would walk a little to get my shot.  Just before we arrived at the field the road crosses the River Dee by this bridge.  I found the crenelations on the parapets rather interesting.  Also when we arrived there were some rather fine rapids running down to the bridge.  I felt the two together would make a good shot.

Wrong!  As you can see there are no rapids.  I had forgotten that this is just about the end of the tidal section of the river.  Of course the tide had come in since we passed and the rapids were submerged.  Perhaps next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.