An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Lost in France...

I am often asked why I love France so much.  To answer properly would take me forever and even then I'm not sure I could properly convey what it is that attracts me.  It just has that certain je ne c'est quoi (haha d'ya see what I did there?! ;-))  

But one of the things that fascinates me is the Christ on the Cross statues that greet you as you ente single village.  No matter how tiny the village, there's a statue of the crucifixion, some very ornate and some very simple.  This one belongs to the neighbouring village.  The one for the village we are staying in is not far from the entrance to the house and is much smaller and more contained that this one.  

I'm not a Roman Catholic and I'm not religious but there's something about these statues that seem so beautiful to me and every time we drive past one into a village, I feel welcomed, and every time we pass one leaving a village, I feel our journey will be a safe one.  

I almost missed this one as I was looking the other way and just caught it at the last minute as we drove past so the angle is wrong.  I was going to straighten it in PSE but decided I quite liked as it is.

Another hot day.  David and Kenny played golf this morning then this afternoon David, Alan, Ed and Elaine and I went to a very beautiful village called Vouvant.   We thought we were lost as the sat nav was taking us on some very narrow roads but eventually we arrived at the village.

 It has the most stunning 11th century church and a lovely art gallery where I saw two hen sculptures that I want to buy for our kitchen when it's done.  David visibly paled when he saw the price but I have till Friday so persuade him we can't possibly live without them :-))

In other news, I've found a field full of sunflowers that looked fairly accessible so hope to pop along there tomorrow to get some proper sunflower shots.

Alan is a bit better but sadly still no pool.

PS Thank you so much for all your lovely comments, stars and hearts on yesterday's stripey field.  So glad I went with the mono version instead of the colour one :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.