Frog or toad?

After today’s physio session, I thought I’d spend some time at the local nature reserve again before going back to work on Wednesday. I was rather looking forward to it and even though it was a grey and rather windy day, I hoped that I might be able to find a blip on the cycling path that runs along a stretch of water towards the entrance of the reserve. Instead, I had a huge shock when I got there.

When I was there on Friday, there had been masses of wild flowers growing on both sides of the cycling path. Over the weekend though, someone had apparently decided that it was time to cut all those wild flowers down, not only removing an important source of food for all the insects that were visiting them by doing so, but in the process also destroying creatures like the Cinnabar moth caterpillars that were feeding on some of the plants.

I’m afraid I just could not go on after that and decided to go home instead. Seeing what they’d done to the area had made me feel too angry and sad to be able to enjoy a visit to the reserve anymore.

With this tiny creature of barely a centimetre, I did find something to blip just before getting back on my bicycle. It was not the entry that I had expected to post though.

Many thanks for all the comments, stars and heart on yesterday's fly blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.