Eaten alive

The rose on my balcony has at least 3 hoverfly larvae on it. There could always be more, but 3 is the most that I managed to see at the same time. You may not think so when looking at this photo, but they are quite difficult to spot, unless your eye happens to notice a movement as they travel around, searching for aphids to eat, which is what this one is doing.

Trying to get a decent photo was not easy either, mostly because it was quite windy and the larva rarely stayed still long enough to focus on it.

Tomorrow will be my first day back at work tomorrow after 2 1/2 months at home and I must admit that I feel rather apprehensive about it.

Thank you very much for all the comments and stars on my frog/toad blip and for trying to identify it for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.