Women in Pink

I've never seen so much pink in all my life. It was the Ilkley Race for Life today and over the last few months I've been helping a friend out with some training around the park, trying (and mostly failing!) to teach her a bit about pace judgement in order that she could get under her target time of 30 minutes for the 5K course. Despite a lack of opportunity to do much running at all in recent weeks for various health reasons, she quite surprised herself with a time of just under 27 mins. I'm very proud of her - despite the fact she ran it more like a fartlek session.

It was the first time I'd watched the event and felt a bit of shame around that today. It was quite fantastic to see so many women, of every age and shape and size, most not really runners at all by any kind of natural inclination, put it on the line as they did, to show such solidarity in raising money and awareness for cancer research. It was as wonderful at it was colourful. And so many little dramas to witness. I'm sure this little girl was beaming with satisfaction afterwards!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.