misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

White Striped Cutworm

I have never seen a white cutworm before and had to look it up on the Internet. Of course, the dull grey ones are the bane of gardeners.
This was curled on a leaf on my newly developing Fedge (Willow Hedge that is getting woven into shape this year.)  Willows are supposed to be hosts for a number of butterflies so I examine it weekly. This fat thing which is sitting on the steering handles of my garden scooter will not be getting to munch its way into the dull moth it was destined to become.


Snake News (from yesterday's blip): Nancy, my gardening friend, and I were all set this morning to clear out the compost bin -- it has been three years and we think it could be ready by now. I had warned her about the sitting snake who would have to be evicted. But when the lid came off the snake was gone and in its place was its skin. This is larger than last year's skin. Had I only waited a few minutes longer I could have watched it shedding.  Although it seems rather invasive. Surely that is a time of reptilian privacy. 
We did not get to empty the snake's condo because there were so many ant nests. And they bite too,  the nasty little things. I wish the snake would eat them.
We stopped and placed a couple of ant traps inside and closed it back up. We will wait for the next sunny day when we are both free.
                --- END OF THE GARDEN REPORT---


Thank you for sticking with the snake story even though you do not care for that sort of creature. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.