The Wren

By TheWren

Alesund

Our first port of call was Alesund and this was the start of my previous cruise to Norway last September when the ship then travelled south into narrow fjords. This time we are venturing northwards, way above the Arctic Circle. In 1996 my late husband and I cruised the coast of Norway from Bergen to Kirkenes, near the Russian border, on board the Norwegian postal boat known as Hurtigruten. ... so these two cruises are bringing back good memories.

As we had previously visited Alesund, this time my sister and brother-in-law joined me in exploring a different part of town where we were afforded new and fascinating views of how this town straddles several islands. On our walk we were also intrigued at the vast amount of wild flowers everywhere, many of which were flowering together and completely out of sync with their flowering times in the UK.

I have also added backblips for 26, 28 and 29th June. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.