Louwestphoto

By Louwestphoto

Fish stew.

Now I work from home a lot, I've got into my cooking. I've always enjoyed watching the food channel (and, of course, eating food), but I never did much actual cooking. I know how to do a lot of things. I just never actually do it. Anyway, we had some nice fresh hake fillets delivered today and we have a cupboard full of bean, so I threw together a Spanish inspired (ie. not remotely traditional) bean stew with hake. I'm not one for following recipes - I usually just wing it. So I sweated down two red onions, added green pepper and garlic, a tonne of paprika and smoked paprika, two tins of plum tomatoes, a pinch of sugar, salt and pepper and some bay leaves. I let it cook down for a while, before throwing in some beans and placing the hake fillets in, put a lid on it, let it steam for ten minutes, before finishing with a squeeze of lemon. It was relish, even if I do say so myself.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.