Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Live at the o2

The first part of the day was grey and drizzly and I headed into to London to try a bit of street photography (see extras), and to visit Tate Modern. There was some interesting pieces of 'art' in there. In the afternoon I took the river bus down to Greenwich so that I could go and have a look at the Astronomy Photographer of the Year exhibition which was being held at the Royal Greenwich Observatory.

In the evening it the was time for the main reason for my trip to London. I took the cable car across the river to the O2 arena (mental note to oneself, DO NOT to take the cable car when it's windy), and it was a very cool way to travel to a gig. 

I was there to see Roxette on their 30th Anniversary tour. It was my first time at the O2 and I must admit I was impressed with the venue. The excitement was rising and then the house lights dimmed and then the band came on stage and everybody jumped up and danced and sang the night away with the band. It was a great night and it was a real party atmosphere.

What really struck me was that despite being a little frail after recovering from a brain tumor about 10 years ago and having to be helped on stage, and sitting down for the duration of the gig, Marie still has a very powerful voice, and gave a great performance. Per who wrote most of the songs was exceptional and really enjoyed himself and gave a great performance too. It took me back to my teenage years.

A sample of last nights music

Some pics from last night

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.