St Michael's Church, Stoney Stanton

I was intending to go for a longer bike ride this morning before it got too warm, however there was rain about, so after an aborted attempt I finally made it out before lunch. I headed off in a new direction towards Stoney Stanton with the idea of doing a new circuit.

After stopping to take this photograph of St Michael's Church and the Millennium Stone I decided that I would be better served returning the way that I had come as I didn't know how long my circuit would take to complete, and my Mum was cooking a Sunday lunch today as Dad has now come down to join us, so I couldn't be late home. I decided to turn around and go back the way that I had come. It was all up hill nearly all the way home! Still another 9 miles under the wheels and a blip in the bag.

This is St Michael's Church, and it was apparently founded in 1149. The style seems to be very similar to some of the other churches in the area which I'm recording for blip.

The Millennium Stone in the foreground has a plaque which Honours and Pays Tribute the Granite Quarrymen in the village, and the population in 2000 was 3322.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.