High Key Butterfly

Many thanks for the comments and stars for my 500th (consecutive too) blip yesterday. They are much appreciated. I'll be able to pick up commenting again soon.

I took a walk around the meadows at the back of the village this afternoon after work, and I was pleased to see some butterflies hunkering down on the grass as it was quite breezy. In fact as I walked through the playing fields I saw a lad on a skateboard type thing with a para-sail pulling himself around the field and occasionally into the air. It looked great fun.

This is a head on shot of a butterfly with a little bit of processing to get the high-key effect. It was a bit fiddly taking it as I was crouching down in the grass (not good for my hay fever) trying to avoid disturbing my subject while holding the grass still with one hand and framing and operating the camera with the other hand.

It's nice to finally see some butterflies, I've seen quite a few bees and bumblebees this summer but not so many butterflies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.