Picture this..

By northernlass261

Paco de Lucia

The internet and phone line has stayed on for two days now!

This morning we went to the El Ejido market which is the first three Wednesdays of the month.   Last week we got daytime shirts for Al and daytime shorts for me.   A return today to purchase more, once tried and found to be just the job.

On our return, I noticed the above street art, homage to Paco de Lucia.

He was born in 1947 in Algeciras, Andalucia and died 2014 in Mexico.   Apparently he was instrumental in legitimizing flamenco among the establishment in Spain.

I recall last year Al had been sent a music video, by a member of the choir,  of Paco in a film showing one of his recordings 'Rio Ancho' where I think he was leading the townspeople away from the village for the last time.   It was very moving, although we could not understand most of it.   It was, I think one of his best known recordings.

I had noticed the picture before but not thought much about it until today, when the council had put two glass disposal bins nearby.   As you can see they are nicely decorated as if he has an audience.   A coincidence??

Anyway, this afternoon I did tackle the cupboards and have done two, more to go tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.