The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Skipper

I've said before that the best time for butterfly photographs, for me at least, is early in the morning.  It was bright, cool and dewy first thing today.  By the time we reached the top of the Knott, the dark winged ringlets were already warmed up and flighty, but this small skipper was still basking with its wings directed towards the sun.  I do like photographing skippers head on with their little horns between the antennae and the "eyelashes".

I worked at home today, which gave me a chance to see what Reggie was up to in the garden.  Arnside Simon has very kindly built us a wooden palisade along the vulnerable length of the garden, and there's no way under, through or over for him.  We can rest easier now, at least until he gets big enough to haul himself up the steps, which hopefully will not be for a few years yet.

The practice nurse this afternoon used a word with which I was familiar as a botanist, but had never heard used in a medical context.  The wound on my back has dehisced.  That sounds so much more genteel than "ripped open" as I had been describing it.

Once again, thank you for all the kind words, and stars and hearts on the pine blip.  Perhaps the pine trunks were dehiscing to allow the sun to burst through like a flower?

Time now for Gus's walk along the estuary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.