Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Rescue

I almost tripped over this little hedgehog on my way home tonight. Once I realised that it was tiny, that it was neither scurrying away nor curling to a ball and that it seemed to have some plastic stuck near/round its neck I decided some action was in order. Luckily I was near home so I wrapped it in my fleece, got it home and into a box before looking for advice.

Our nearest hedgehog rescue centre is in Dewsbury, but I found that our local vet act as a drop off for such cases and were obviously in a better place to assess immediate needs and provide whatever care was needed.

So little hedgehog will now spend a few months being cared before before its big enough to fend for itself and can be released back into the wild.

Please consider supporting the good work of the British Hedgehog Preservation Society.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.