Journey Through Time

By Sue

Part of the Garden

Bill wanted me to feature the veggie garden and to "get way back by the garage and get all of it."  Well, when I do that, you can't really see it all that well.  This shows off the cucumbers that are taking over, some lettuce and onions and there are some beets in there somewhere.  In the back, by the shed, he is growing "broom corn", for some reason.  I think he got it free from the nursery where he worked so he planted it.  I don't think there is anything edible about this corn...it is used to make brooms.  Or so he says.  I have no idea as I've never heard of it before.  Just something fun to grow.

There is another raised bed with strawberries that didn't do all that well this year and then one with potatoes.  Our two blueberry bushes did okay for the birds I think, but we didn't get much off of them.  We need to re-think the way we try to protect them. 

A quiet day, but I did go to the mall.  I returned The Pilgrim, as I decided it wasn't the book for me, and found another one I think I'll like a lot better. Tony Hillerman was a writer of mysteries featuring the Native American Indians - Navajo - of the Four Corners area of the SW of America.  I had read all of his books and then he died, but I learned today that his daughter, a writer in her own right, has taken up the banner, and is now continuing the story line and characters that her father developed. So, that was fun to find out and I'm sure I will like the book. 

Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.