Journey Through Time

By Sue

Keeping Cool

I looked up why this robin is doing this, although it is pretty obvious it is a cooling method.

When it’s hot, some species will also resort to gular fluttering. The bird will open its mouth and “flutter” its neck muscles, promoting heat loss (think of it as the avian version of panting).

Today we found out our car A/C was "totaled". They called and gave us the bad news after we left the car there to see what the damages were and their estimate to fix it. Yikes! And they were cheaper than some other places. I'm trying to "keep my cool" about the whole thing. The downside to car ownership, I guess.

I did some housework and tried to do a little cleaning while "keeping cool" in the house. I sat outside for awhile, though, enjoying the warmth and ever vigilant for a good blip. Don't know if this qualifies for "good", but it's good enough for me today.

Hope all is well in Blipland. "Keep cool" and carry on, my friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.