Kroos(t)

Todays title reflects two Dutch words that pronounce almost the same. I captured them in one image, 'Kroos' meaning duckweed and 'Kroost' meaning offspring.

I don't know if it's scientifically correct, but it's a popular belief that if there is duckweed on a pond it indicates the water is not polluted, but pretty healthy. 

May be that's the reason these Swans and cygnet offspring have chosen this pond as their habitat.

What concerns me is that over the years I see less and less duckweed in the landscape. Way less than than I remember from my childhood.

A nice personal anecdote:

When my brother and I emigrated to Holland in our early teens we had never seen Duckweed - or even snow for that matter - in our life.
Naturally the first time we saw a duckweed covered pond my brother thought it was a freshly mowed lawn and decided to take a short cut cycling back home on his bike.
My friends and I who were cycling behind him suddenly saw him disappear under water and surface with the most surprised face ever.


I'll never ever forget that face :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.