Where there is a will there is a way.

Dear Diary,

I am struggling with my new laptop...a whole new operating system and it will take time to master it I'm sure but I don't want to miss a post!  I went by this rather unique mailbox.  It is only 3-4 miles from my house. 

Here in Maine the snowplows often take out the mailboxes which are too close to the road.  I have a small turn out to protect my mailbox.  This person was a bit more imaginative.  Taping the box to an old lawn mower!  He can easily move the box when the snow begins.

"Make do with what you have" is a real Yankee trait.  I suspect it is true with most of rural America. When you don't have money you have to "make do".  When I first moved into my house the former owner had used a canned ham tin to keep the rain off the light over the back door.  I almost hated to take it down!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.