The Denison Homestead

Dear Diary,

I got to spend time at the Denison Homestead in Mystic, Connecticut.  The original 200 acres were given to my 9th great grandfather for his military service in the late 1600's.  He built a large house which later burned on the eve of his grandson's wedding.  This is the house the grandson built in 1717 to take it's place.  I saw the the scorched timbers in the kitchen that were reused from the original house as well as a hollow log mortar used to grind corn, also with scorch marks...350 years old.

The portrait is of my 7th great grandfather, John Denison.  Staring into the eyes of a ancestor is an awesome experience especially as this one died in 1848!  My attempts at photographing in the dark house weren't very successful but just being there was a treat.  The 300th anniversary of the house will be celebrated with a gathering of Denison descendants...perhaps I will go!

Now I am enjoying a wonderful Blipmeet with DDW and the incomparable Mr W.  BB and the sweet little Mable greeted me with great enthusiasm.  I lovely, albeit hot, day in Connecticut.  A day to relax with good friends and just enjoy this special place.

Update: When I sat down with the family chronicle I figured out that this gentleman is most likely a great (many times) uncle.  Same name as my 7X great grandfather but the dates are wrong.  Very confusing but definitely an ancestor of some sort!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.